Grand County Sheriff's Office

Serving Grand County, Colorado, since 1874

The Grand County Sheriff's Office is located in the County Seat, the Town of Hot Sulphur Springs. Hot Sulphur Springs was established in 1860 making it the oldest town in the county. On September 8th, 1874, John Baker became the first elected sheriff of the county.

The River in our patch depicts the headwaters of the (today’s) Colorado River which are located in Grand County, and the snow-capped mountains represent the Continental Divide that runs through. 

The Grand County Sheriff’s Office has 63 employees, within 6 divisions: Administration, Patrol, Detentions, Animal Control, Judicial Services, and Dispatch/Communications Center, all overseen by Sheriff Brett Schroetlin.

Welcome to Grand County, Colorado
GCSO Badge logo small

Now Hiring Patrol Deputies, Detentions Deputies and Dispatchers

The Grand County Sheriff's Office currently has openings for Patrol Deputies, Detentions Deputies and Dispatchers. The Sheriff's Office employment application can be found here. We encourage anyone interested in these positions to call the Sheriff's Office main office phone line at 970-725-3343 and request to speak with the respective Lieutenant. Applications can be either dropped off in person to the Sheriff's Office, mailed to Post Office Box 48, Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451 or sent via email to 

Grand County Evacuation Map

Grand County Evacuation Map 2021