County Commissioners


Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

About the Board

Grand County is governed by a three-member Board of County Commissioners as mandated by the Colorado State Constitution:
Commissioners are elected at large, and each represents the district of the county in which they reside for four-year staggered terms.


Boards of county commissioners serve as both administrative and policy-making bodies for their counties. While, generally, boards have only those powers specifically conferred by the State General Assembly, courts have held that they have such implied powers as may be necessary to carry out their specified powers. Additional features include:
  • Constitutionally, the board sits as the county board of equalization
  • Fills all vacancies in county offices other than those for county commissioner and for public trustee
  • Exercises all powers of the county, as a legal entity, as the board of county commissioners and not as individual members