Fire Restrictions

Grand County Fire Restrictions

Fire restrictions have been rescinded on all National Forest System lands managed by the Medicine Bow-Routt National Forests and Thunder Basin National Grassland. This includes National Forest and Grassland in Garfield, Grand, Jackson, Moffat, Rio Blanco, and Routt counties in northwest Colorado; Albany, Campbell, Carbon, Converse, Crook, Natrona, Niobrara, Platte, and Weston counties in Wyoming. All areas remain in various stages of drought; however, the broad onset of snowy and colder weather has seasonally decreased fire danger.

Regarding ongoing wildfires, they have or will soon transition management back to local Forest resources. Engines will continue to patrol and monitor fires while conducting fire suppression repair work as possible.

Area closures on National Forest System lands remain in place for the East Troublesome, Middle Fork, and Mullen fires, and are re-evaluated weekly. Visit: for Arapaho and for Medicine Bow. 

The Bureau of Land Management - Kremmling Field Office opened the area north of U.S. Highway 40 and west of Grand County Road 21. Visit for more information. 

Some areas of Rocky Mountain National Park have reopened. The west side of Rocky Mountain National Park remains closed due to the level of fire impacts and ongoing safety assessments. Visit for more information.

State Fire Restrictions

High temperatures and dry conditions have resulted in high fire danger and extreme fire behavior throughout much of Colorado. The entire state is experiencing abnormally dry or drought conditions, and approximately sixty percent of the State is in severe or extreme drought conditions as classified by the United States Drought Monitor. Given these facts, conditions of extreme fire hazard exist across the State. The State’s top priorities are protecting life, property, and protecting and reopening Interstate 70. Executive Order D 2020 168 temporarily restricts fires in the State of Colorado, with limited exceptions, to reduce the risk of new fires and protect health and safety. 

What are Fire Restrictions?

Fire restrictions can originate from many places. Federal agencies such as the US Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, and the National Park Service can impose restrictions on the public land they manage. Individual states can impose restrictions on state-managed land. Counties may impose bans on private lands within county borders. Confusion can result from the multiple agency jurisdictions, especially when adjacent lands have different restrictions depending on the administering agency.

Fire Restriction Brochure

Other Resources…

Grand County Natural Resources

Colorado Office of Emergency Management’s Interactive Fire Map. Click on the map of current Fire Bans and Fire Danger Ratings in the State of Colorado or scroll down to view “Grand County” on the left of the page.

Arapaho & Roosevelt National Forest

Rocky Mountain National Park

Bureau of Land Management

Colorado Parks and Wildlife

Grand County Wildfire Council

Contact Us